Stay Productive: Know how to balance your life

Stay Productive: Know how to balance your life

·

4 min read

This lockdown period has been beneficial for a lot of people. So many of them started exploring themselves and also started inculcating good habits in their lives. But, not all of them are having the perfect productive day.

Most of them are either binge watching series and movies or just doing nothing in this golden period of time. Watching a lot of movies and playing games is not a bad thing unless we overdo them.

I know it's easier said than done. In this article, I'm going to explain how you can overcome your addiction on these following things:

  1. Instagram
  2. Snapchat
  3. Series
  4. Games
  5. Whatsapp

You might have seen so many articles and videos on how social media is affecting our lives and why we should delete our accounts. My suggestion is just to have a restriction in your screen time. You should have a habit of checking your screen time daily before you go to sleep and analyze whether you have reduced when compared to yesterday.

The most important thing is to disable your notifications. There is no need to reply to that person "immediately". If that person wants to convey something important to you, he/she would definitely call you.

Another habit that I want you guys to follow is to reply to everyone only after your work is done for the day because that particular notification stops you from doing your work at that moment and once you get back you realize that your concentration and focus goes back to zero.

Set your goals for the day. My advice is not to make big unrealistic strict timetables instead just list down the tasks you need to complete for that day. When you have this habit, automatically you will be busy for the entire day and you will eventually get rid of your addiction to the above things I mentioned.

Go for a refreshing walk filled with music to have a relaxed mind. Avoid screens when you are on a break. Enjoy watching series or playing games with your friends in a fixed period of time only after you finish ticking off your to-do list.

I would recommend everyone to just stop maintaining streaks on Snapchat and instead focus on whether you are maintaining your good habits daily by using the "Loop Habit Tracker". Use whatsapp just for official purposes.

Why do we use Instagram? Think deeply. We keep scrolling. Why? Just to see what people are doing in their life? Oh come on, we don't have time for our own life! Some people take pictures just to post/story to get those likes which are just false appreciation.

Work towards your life goals, people will genuinely like you for who you are!

I was wasting all these months on these stuff until I found Twitter. The best thing that ever happened in my life! I mean it. I started my programming journey and it's going pretty well only because of the dev community on Twitter. Those people are the ones who genuinely helped me out and I'm happy to have them.

I realized that so many people are doing amazing stuff out there! So if they can do it, why not me? If I can do it, why not you? Choose who you want to be and work hard. If you want to be a model, choose Instagram to showcase who you are. If you want to be a programmer, choose GitHub and not Instagram!

Start now! Don't worry if you have spent all these years without any goals in your life. Stop worrying and do it now. Making progress daily is what matters in the end.

Find your end goal in your life and stay productive!

P.S: I was addicted to these for a lot of years and I found these habits to be useful to overcome them. I hope it'll work for you too :)